Receive your 12th week for free

When you start your care journey by 30 September 2024.

Company News

Avery Awards 2022: And the winner is…

At Avery, recognising and celebrating our colleague’s excellence, passion, and hard work is an integral element of our values. Throughout the summer, Avery Healthcare and The Hawthorns group colleagues have been nominating their peers for our annual Avery Awards.

Managing Director John Strowbridge and COO Sharon Winfield hosted the awards on Thursday, 17th November, at the Crowne Plaza Hotel in Nottingham. The black-tie gala dinner lived up to expectations. It was a joyous evening as our nominees came together to celebrate the hard work and dedication of our #OneFamily.

Speaking on behalf of the senior management team, Lisa Soper said, “What makes this event so special is that nominations are made by peers, and you can’t ask for a stronger accolade. Our #OneFamily values are Proud, Supportive and Caring. Looking around the room during the evening, it was a joy to see colleagues from different care homes who may never have met congratulating and celebrating each other’s achievements. It was extremely difficult to decide the winners, and the standard of all the nominations was incredibly high, so I would like to take this opportunity to commend anyone who received a nomination, runners-up and, of course, the winners. I am so incredibly proud  of each and every one of you.”

We are now delighted to announce the winners of the Avery Awards 2022:

Administration & Front of House

Winner – Tara Blurton, Crispin Court

Runner up – Karen Kita, Hawthorns Northampton


Winner – Judith McMillan, Edenbridge Manor 

Runner up – Tanya Middleton, Alder House

Clinical Excellence

Winner – Lisa Turnbull, Grove Park

Runner up – Jesamine Dela Rose, Clayton Manor


Winner – Tomasz Milewski, Droitwich Mews

Runner up – Kerry Blower, Abbey Court

Dementia Carer

Winner – Lewis Poulson, Alma Court

Runner up – Sophie White, Derby Heights

Food & Beverage Service Team

Winner – Culinary Team, Hawthorns Braintree

Runner up – Champa and Juan, Birchwood Grange


Winner – Shweta Mendon, Spencer House

Runner up – Gemma Bertelsen, Horse Fair

Housekeeping & Laundry

Winner- Sally Fuller, Rivermere

Runner up – Debbie Joyce, Hawthorns Aldridge


Winner – Debbie Rowley, Bridge Manor

Runner up – Jan Davenport, Spencer House

Lifetime Achievement

Winner – Julie Spencer, Operations

Runner up – Kate Sweeting, Operations


Winner – David Arrowsmith, Amarna House

Runner up – Cristian Diaconescu, Albion Court


Winner – Avon Valley Team, Avon Valley

Runner up – Braintree Team, Hawthorns Braintree


Winner – Louise Moran, Hanford Court

Runner up – Kieran Moore, Alma Court

Well-being & Activities

Winner – Rosie Boshell, Bourn View

Runner up – Bernadette Williams, Hempstalls Hall